VaultCanada Sport Committee Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference is the governing document that describes how this Equine Canada Discipline committee is structured and conducts its business.

For a complete, published version, please refer to the Equestrian Canada Operational Committee Manual (Vaulting Committee page 22)

Updated by the VaultCanada Sport Committee March 21, 2024


The VaultCanada Sport Committee is the discipline committee of Equine Canada under Sport Council responsible for developing national competition and education programs, as well as coordinate the efforts of Canadians competing at FEI events.


Composition of the Committee

The Committee Members are sent to the Committee from the officially recognized Provincial Vaulting Organization (PVO) for each Province, as recognized by the province’s overall equine-specific Provincial Sport Organization (PSO.)

In order to send voting members to the Committee, a PVO must meet the following criteria:

  • Have a minimum of 10 active voting members
  • Have least 3 active vaulting clubs
  • Have a minimum of one Certified Provincial Vaulting Trainer per club.
  • If the PVO cannot obtain recognition by the province’s overall equine-specific Provincial Sport Organization (PSO), the PVO may still request approval to join VaultCanada. In order to receive approval, there must be a minimum of one coach per club who has completed and passed all training and evaluation components of the Provincial Trainer program.
  • Must organize and host a provincial championship once per calendar year.‌
  • Maximum of 9 Committee Members including the chair, with one voting member per PVO
    • The remaining voting member positions are awarded based on the membership number ratios; starting with the PVO that has the highest ratio, and working down to the PVO with the lowest ratio
  • A PVO may name a reserve representative, whom must be kept up to speed on the current issues, who may attend any meeting in place of an original voting member
  • The committee members, each February, elect from among themselves a Committee Chair. The Chair does not vote unless there is a tie in any motion. The PVO that the Chair was representing may choose to send a new representative to replace his/her vote
  • Specific Responsibilities of the Committee
    • Designation of representative(s) to each of the Equine Canada Sport Division and Sport Council Committees with which we have stakeholder involvement
    • Develop and implement policies and programs in conjunction with the National Sub-committees
    • Assist in developing and implementing budgets for programs and Sub-committee activities
    • Oversee accountability and fiscal responsibility
  • All Committee members must hold an Equine Canada Sport License of any level

Governance Policy

Code of Conduct, Dispute Resolutions, Chair Responsibilities and all similar guidelines will be pursuant to the Equine Canada Governance Policy Manual.  See Appendix A, Board Guidelines.


  • The Committee will meet as often as necessary to accomplish its responsibilities, and at a minimum of twice per year. Whenever possible, the Committee will convene with a minimum of one week notice. The meeting Agenda should be distributed with the meeting notification
  • Meetings may be held by conference call in combination with Internet meeting software
  • The quorum of all Committee meetings to convene must be at least 51%.
  • Individual motions may be moved, seconded, and voted on by the Committee Members electronically; such as by email, etc. When voting electronically, a minimum of 3 days must be provided for committee members to respond, and at least 80% of committee members must vote


The Committee will appoint a Chair for the following standing Sub-Committees each February. From time to time, the Committee may also strike Ad-Hock committees for short term purposes.

  • IT Committee
  • Communications


Out-of-meeting communication between Committee Members will be handled by a single electronic system of the committee's choosing. Official communication between the Committee and the Community / general public / media will be via the Communications Sub-Committee.